NCHS Class of 2020 celebrates graduation with outdoor ceremony at Pioneer Field

Julie Davis
Nebraska City News-Press

The class with strength and endurance made it to the high school finish line Saturday morning as Nebraska City Senior High School was able to hold graduation ceremonies at Pioneer Field.

Social distancing kept the 83 members of the Class of 2020 apart on the bleachers, while family members and friends gathered on the football field to celebrate the class and its accomplishments.

Individual winners of local scholarships were not recognized during graduation ceremonies this year.

Class of 2020 members received scholarships from

American Legion Post No. 8,

American Red Cross Blood Drive Scholarship,

Beta Sigma Phi-Alpha Omega Chapter,

Beta Sigma Phi-Lauritte Alpha XI,

Bethany Wademan,

CHI St. Mary's Hospital Scholarship,

Commercial State Bank Scholarship,

Cornelia Petring Kimmel Scholarship,

David Goswick Memorial Scholarship,

Dorothea A. Kropp Memorial Art Scholarship,

Elks J.B. Ferguson Golf Scholarship,

Elks Memorial Scholarship,

Elks Past Exalted Ruler Scholarship,

Elks Vocational Scholarship,

Georgia H. Loofe Memorial Art Scholarship,

Grace and Harry Moeller Scholarship,

Harry Bischof Memorial Scholarship,

Henry F. and Mary Meyer Scholarship,

Kenny Gress Memorial Scholarship,

Kenny Peterson Memorial Scholarship,

Keys For Kids Scholarship,

Koslosky Memorial Scholarship,

Kropp Foundation Scholarship,

Lois Berger Memorial Scholarship,

Morton and Ella Steinhart Scholarship,

Mother Goose Scholarship,

Nebraska City Apple Corp Barbershop Chorus Scholarship,

Nebraska City Education Association Scholarship,

Nebraska City First United Methodist Church and Maynard Family Scholarship,

Nebraska City High School Alumni Foundation Scholarship,

Nebraska City High School Alumni Foundation Grant-College and Non-traditional applicants,

Nebraska City News Press Journalism Scholarship,

Nebraska City Softball Scholarship,

Nebraska City Teammates,

Nebraska City Tourism and Commerce Scholarship,

Nebraska City Volunteer Fire Dept.,

Otoe County 4-H Foundation Scholarship,

Otoe County 4-H Foundation: Miyoshi-Smith Leadership Scholarship,

Pearl Ruby Tucker Mem. Scholarship,

Richard P. Kimmel and Laurine Kimmel Charitable Foundation

Richard P. Kimmel & Laurine Kimmel Charitable Foundation/ Rotary Scholarship,

Tom Bales Baseball Scholarship,

Tree City Garden Education Scholarship,

Varsity Club Scholarship,

Walmart Scholarship,

Woodmen of the World Scholarship, and

Western Star.

Students who graduated in the top 10 percent of their class were recognized during the ceremony.

They are Esmeralda Armenta Ramirez, David Gray Carpenter Jr., Isabella Nicole Denniston, Jenna Renae Dirkschneider, Sarah Ann Murray, Vinh Quoc Phan, Trey Landon Pursel, Noah David Russell, and Rosa Margarita Tomas Jacinto.

Class of 2020 Officers Natalie Turner, Isabella Denniston, and Lindsey Booth welcomed the audience to the ceremony, and Officers Sarah Murray and Mackenzi Berglund closed the ceremony.

Vihn Phan and Trey Pursel delivered the senior message, with NCHS Principal Brian Hoover reading Pursel’s remarks as he is in basic training to prepare for entrance into the United States Military Academy this fall.