The Nebraska City Public Schools board of education hosted its annual reorganizational meeting Monday night.
Officer elections were one of the first orders of business for the meeting.
Kent Blum was re-elected board president. Lisa Chaney was elected board vice president.
Dr. Jeff Edwards was reappointed board secretary, and Brenda Wieckhorst was reappointed board treasurer.
Following a presentation by Tyler Kaps of Dana F. Cole LLP certified public accountants that summarized the district audit, board members approved the audit.
Kaps called attention to the fact that the district was able to reduce spending by $1.1 million and had $4.3 million in total assets on Aug. 31, 2018.
He added that the district paid $937,484 into the employee retirement plan and had an $850,000 line of credit available.
Board members approved an early graduation request from student Erica Ramage, who plans to become a combat medic in the U.S. Army.
They also approved the voluntary separation request from Val McGregor, who will retire at the end of the school year after 34 years of teaching.
The board will be requesting applications from community members interested in serving as a board member prior to its next meeting on Feb. 11.
At the February meeting, the board will appoint a new member to replace board member Ken Zaroban, who resigned in December 2018.
The next regular NCPS board meeting will take place at 6 p.m. at the district office, 1700 14th Ave., on Monday, Feb. 11.