Nebraska City Public Schools will celebrate #BeKind Week Nov. 5 through 9.
Events will include an reception/open house and ribbon cutting at the district central office, 1700 14th Ave, on Wednesday, Nov. 7, from 4 to 6:30 p.m.
Office tours will be provided from 4 to 5 p.m., and the ribbon cutting will take place at 5 p.m.
The event will also feature an awards ceremony following the ribbon cutting, a proclamation from Nebraska City Mayor Bryan Bequette, and live entertainment.
Students will celebrate  #BeKind Week will special events in each of the district’s schools, said Teresa Frields, director of assessment/curriculum support/diagnostician,  school improvement advisory, Nebraska City Public Schools.
Northside students will take part in #BeKind art projects, including quilts and cards for the nursing care centers in Nebraska City, said Frields.
Hayward students will create classroom team posters, she said, and Nebraska City Middle School students will participate in a #BeKind writing contest.
Finally, Nebraska City High School students will take part in a #BeKind poetry contest, she said.
Nebraska City Career Academy students will create plaques that will be presented to the top activity selections, said Frields.
Other districtwide projects during #Be Kind Week include an “A Warmer Day” coat drive distribution from 5:30 to 7 p.m. on Nov. 7.
The district will also be reaching past county and state boundaries with “Nebraska Schools Care - Kindness Across the Miles,” and adopt a school district in Florida that was affected by Hurricane Michael.
Nebraska City Public Schools will be sending gift cards for teachers to use for special classroom items, said Frields.
The district will also be providing Scholastic Books to help rebuild libraries damaged or destroyed in the storm, and students and staff will be sending notes and cards of support to their peers in Florida, said Frields.
Frields said the district selected is the home of former Nebraska City residents Thatcher and Gerilyn Cardon, who lived here from 2012 to 2015 and had three children attend Nebraska City Public Schools.
 Donations made to the Nebraska City Public Schools Foundation - #BeKind, said Frields.
“It just seemed like the perfect way to combine kindness with others in education needing support,” said Frields. “That’s what schools do, they reach out and share, while supporting all kids in the process. Showing kindness across the miles in education and friendship is just a great thing to do.”
In addition to Frields, the #Be Kind commitee members are Carla Zaroban, Kori Vodicka, Jeff Edwards, Capri Kiekel, April Dickerson, MaKayla Riesberg, Katie Meredith, Leisha Pickerill, Amy Wynn, Jara Tharp, Lanette Kingery, Justin Aaberg, Lisa Chaney, Brian Hoover, Kent Blum, Susan Armstrong, and Stacie Higgins.