The Otoe County 4-H Public Speaking Contest was Sunday, April 15, at the Otoe County Fair Center in Syracuse.
 There were 27 Otoe County 4-H members who participated in this event.
The 4-H Public Speaking Contest helps youth develop skills for communicating about current issues to real audiences, learn how to organize and prepare a speech, develop speech delivery skills, learn how to present themselves to others, and develop self-confidence.
Clover Kids participating were:  Maci Smidt, Adams; Hadley Bakan and Hayden Wellensiek, Cook; Bryn Boitnott, Nehawka; Jacob Hippin and Kenli Peterson, Bennet; Kirsten Knake, Unadilla; and Jolie Kreifels, Amber Schropfer, Clifford Wagner and Cosette Wagner, Nebraska City.
Each Clover Kid presented the Pledge of Allegiance, the 4-H Pledge, or both.
The Novice Division Champion was London Rohlfs of Alvo and the Reserve Champion was Isabelle Johnson of Nebraska City.
Brooke Parsons of Otoe earned a purple while Kaden Knake of Unadilla and Diego Velazco of Syracuse received blues.

In the Junior Division the Champion was Daisa Smidt of Adams and the Reserve Champion was Justus Kreifels of Nebraska City. They received purple ribbons along with John Hippen of Bennet. Earning blue ribbons were Mya Reynoldson of Douglas, and Madeline Wood and Sydney Wood, Palmyra.
In the Intermediate Division the Champion was Valerie Bennie of Nebraska City, while Abby Masonbrink of Unadilla was the Reserve Champion. Hailey Kirchhoff of Syracuse received a purple while Lexi Bruns-Morris of Nebraska City earned a blue.
The Public Service Announcement (PSA) Intermediate Champion was Abby Masonbrink of Unadilla, while the Senior PSA Champion was Ashley Baragary of Dunbar.    
The top three speeches and PSAs in each of the junior, intermediate, and senior divisions qualify for district competition on May 17 in Lincoln.
Awards for the contest were sponsored by the Otoe County 4-H Council. The judge for this event was Jessica Mullendore of Lincoln.
For more information about 4-H contact the Nebraska Extension Office in Otoe County at or at 402-269-2301.