Come out and congratulate the members of the Nebraska City High School band for an outstanding fall season by attending the fall concert at 7 p.m. on Tuesday in the old gym at NCHS.
Nebraska City’s band completed a decorated four-event fall schedule this year that had them taking first in the parade competition at the Popcorn Day Parade in Hamburg, Iowa, and second, by one point, at the AppleJack parade competition.
The NCHS band earned a superior rating at the first ever Falls City field competition show and then rounded out the fall with superior ratings for both marching and field competitions at the Harvest of Harmony in Grand Island.
This was the first year that the band competed in the field show at the Harvest of Harmony.
Also a highlight from the Grand Island event, Katelyn Nielson, the NCHS candidate for the Harvest of Harmony pageant was third runner up in a field of 28 contestants.
All of the work required to compete at this high level was obtained by the NCHS group through organized practice that began July 27, two days before the band’s first event, the Otoe County Fair Parade.
From the beginning, NCHS Director Emily Roth said the band members bought in to the ideas for the marching and field shows and were dedicated to performing at a high level.
A 20-member senior class provided leadership and accountability that set the tone for success.
“From the first day of school, I knew that it was going to be an awesome experience,” said Roth.
The theme for the NCHS Band Field show for 2017 was La Nouba, a show performed by Cirque du Soleil.
“It was just fun, lively and entertaining music,” said Roth.
As the band got started with their show preparations, Roth said the initial focus was on the building blocks that would make it all work.
“Any activity comes back to, ‘How strong are your fundamentals?,’” Roth said.
As the fundamentals were ironed out, Roth said the band pumped up the intensity and created a driving energy that carried the band. And that’s not easy.
“It takes a lot of endurance,” Roth said. “We tell them, ‘If you are not out of breath by the end of the show, you are not working hard enough.”

In terms of new features and techniques for this year, Roth said the band’s focus was not necessarily on things that were different than what the Pioneer unit had done before. It was more about what was appropriate and what would work.
Last year, there were some dance elements to the show. This year’s show didn’t lend itself to dance. Roth said a high step was incorporated that made sense.
“It’s about finding the elements that are going to sell the music and sell the story that the music is trying to tell,” Roth said.
Also of note, six students from NCHS performed as part of an honor band which includes students from across the state. The NCHS band members auditioned for inclusion in the band. The NCHS honor band students are Ashley Giles, junior; Keith Whitehead, junior; Nick Brown, freshman; Erik Rodriguez, junior; Fernando Dominguez, junior; and Erica Ramage, sophomore.
The honor band students got together at Doane College last Saturday and practiced together beginning at 9:30 a.m. for a show at 3:45 p.m.
Below is a roster for the 2017 NCHS Band.
Alyson Barr, Mya Bartman, Sam Biaggi, Makensi Blum, Sydney Blum, Sarah Bogle, Madison Bolton, Haliee Book, Cara Booth, Lindsey Booth, Jacey Bossung, Alyssa Bottorff, Nick Brown, Gray Carpenter, Izzy Denniston, Fadi Dia, Adam Dia, Fernando Dominguez, Beau Eacret, Evan Essary, Hayden Ferryman, Lillian Frields, Ashley Giles, Sadie Giles, Aiden Giles, Mason Hamilton, Alexus Hansen, Abbie Heiser, Chloe Higgins, Ellie Higgins, Alexis Hoover, Logan Hoover, Langston Hoover, Kylie Howell, Katelynn Howell, Lukas Huge, Zeke Inman, Taya Johnson, Calie Koberstein, Trevor Kohrs, Katherine Luther, Reese Madsen, Akeer Majak, Julieta Martinez, Deryk McCown, Kyle Moon, Hazel Morales—Gonzalez, Mickayla Morrow, Sarah Murray, Katie Nielson, April Ortiz, Erik Poggemeyer, Bethany Ramage, Erica Ramage, Harley Reeves, Daniel Reidy, Rachelle Rice, Erik Rodriguez, Noah Russell, Ximena Sandoval, Chloe Schaulis, Alexa Schmitz-Reed, Gillian Simrell, Caleb Stukenholtz, Morgan Thomas, Aspen Thurman, Aubrey Thurman, Christian Tietz, Katia Tovar, Natalie Turner, Mariah Valquier, Jesse Vlahos, Jack Vlahos, TayLynn Waddell, Sabrina Wampler, Klarissa Wampler, Michaela Weston, Keith Whitehead, Renee Williams, Clarissa Williams, Sam Williams and Nick Zaroban.