The Nebraska City City Council took on a relatively brief agenda at its meeting Monday night.
Commissioners approved the Nebraska City Jaycees application for a fireworks display permit for Saturday, July 1, with a rain date of Sunday, July 2.
Election results for the Nebraska City Volunteer Fire Department officers were announced.
Serving as president for 2017-2018 will be Tom Woodward. Jeff Kohrs will be secretary. Steve Recker will be treasurer, and Alan Viox will continue as chief.
Dennis Marshall will be first assistant chief, and John Shrader will be second assistant chief.
Captains will be Rob Schreiner, Dave Briley, and Brian Ehmke. Kim Kohout will be training officer, and Jeff Lollmann will be safety officer.
At the conclusion of the introductions, the officers were recognized with a round of applause from the audience.
Officer Chris Richardson from the Nebraska City Police Department was promoted to sergeant, and his wife, Dawn, pinned his sergeant’s badge on him.
Mayor Bryan Bequette was joined by Nebraska City Utilities representatives Leroy Frana, Cathy Meyer and Mark Lant while the mayor read a proclamation declaring May 7 to 13 as Drinking Water Week in Nebraska City.
The application for a Class C liquor license for Trackside Entertainment LLC, dba as The Depot at 625 S. 6th St. was approved by the council.
Council members heard a report from Doug and Pat Friedli on the upcoming Chautauqua, which will visit Nebraska City from June 21 to 24. This year’s program focus will be “World War I: Legacies of a Forgotten War” and will include daytime workshops, a youth camp for middle-school students, and evening performances by visiting scholars.
Commissioners approved the addition of the Summit Time and Attendance Module to the city’s time-keeping system and  approved $29,000 for the Nebraska City Museum Association to hire a coordinator.
The council concluded the meeting with a discussion of potentially helping to fund an annual city-wide cleanup.
The discussion ended without any action being taken by the council.