Nebraska City News-Press - Nebraska City, NE
  • Peru State Athletic Department conducts annual tourney

  • The Peru State College (PSC) Athletic Department held their annual golf tournament on May 31 at the Table Creek Golf Course in Nebraska City. Thirty teams participated in the event, which was held under excellent weather conditions.
    • email print
  • The Peru State College (PSC) Athletic Department held their annual golf tournament on May 31 at the Table Creek Golf Course in Nebraska City. Thirty teams participated in the event, which was held under excellent weather conditions.
    The team led by Bobcat softball coach Mark Mathews of Peru won the Championship Flight with a score of 56 in the four-person scramble. Also golfing with Mathews were Don Brummer (Omaha), Mark Gurley (Grandview, Mo.), and Al Buckles (Omaha). Taking second place was the team led by Bobcat golf coach Brett Hahn that shot a 58. Golfing with Hahn were Myron Hahn (Nebraska City), Phil Moyer (Bellevue), and Al Bennett (Nebraska City). The third place team, which shot a 59, was from Nebraska Orthopedic and included: Joe Dunn (Falls City), Jim McLaughlin, Terry Warner, and Ryun Theobald (Sterling).
    Winning the First Flight was a team led by Mark Ritchie (Nebraska City) which shot a 64, the same as both the second and third place winners. Other members of the team were Doyle Dillow (Lincoln), Roger Zajicek (Lincoln), and Scott Long. The second place team was Chris Crawford (Auburn), Ben Combs (Auburn), Scott Mellage (Auburn), and Brian Pugh (Auburn). Third went to a team captained by Bobcat baseball coach Wayne Albury (Peru). Golfing with Albury were Kendall Neimann (Auburn), Kevin Turner (Omaha), and Dennis Kirkpatrick (Auburn).
    The Second Flight was also decided by a scorecard playoff as three teams tied with a 69. Winning the flight was the DLR team of Ken West (Omaha), Chad Beeson (Omaha), Peru State Foundation executive director Todd Simpson (Omaha), and Bobcat head athletic trainer Brent Melvin (Peru). Taking second was a team consisting of Melvin Schneider (Fremont), James Schneider (Fremont), Bobcat assistant football coach Doug Lanik (Wahoo), and Jerry Koehler (Harvard). Third place went to Bobcat assistant football coaches Lou Varley (Nebraska City) and Chuck Mizerski (Lincoln), who combined with Alan Wiles (Weeping Water) and Steve Massoth (Manley).
    Flag prize winners were: Hole #2 – Closest 1st Shot – Bret Fritch (Omaha), Hole #4 – Closest 1st Shot Ladies Only – Kim Kreifels (Nebraska City), Hole #6 – Closest 1st Shot – Ron Douglas (Lincoln), Hole #8 – Longest Drive – Troy Katen (Nebraska City), Hole #9 – Longest Putt – Bill Hosack (Harlan, Iowa), Hole #10 – Shortest Drive in fairway – Katie Potter (Omaha), Hole #11 – Closest 1st Shot – Melvin Schneider (Fremont), Hole #12 – Longest Putt – Mitch Chappelear (Blair), Hole #13 – Closest 2nd Shot – Joe Dunn, Hole #14 – Closest Shot From Off the Green – Bryan Kearney (Columbus), Hole #15 – Longest Putt – Mike Gerdes (Auburn), Hole #16 – Closest 2nd Shot – John Bebout (Nebraska City), Hole #17 – Closest 1st Shot – Nate Easley (Nebraska City), and Hole #18 – Longest Driveway in fairway – Brett Hahn (Nebraska City). NOTE: Additional hole prizes were awarded, but some cards were missing.
    One team was the winner of the skins game. Bobcat golf coach Brett Hahn's team captured the skins.
    Page 2 of 2 - Athletic Director Steve Schneider and lead organizer, Vickie Melvin – an athletic trainer for the Bobcats, were pleased with the turnout and how the event ran. Melvin said, “We were very excited to have a full tournament and appreciate all of the businesses and individuals whom supported the event. Without their generous donations, we would not be able to have an event of this nature.”
    Schneider added his appreciation for the three main golf tournament sponsors which were the Omaha Alumni Association, Smith Vending Corporation of Clarinda, Iowa, and Kiewit of Omaha. He also said, “The Bobcat Athletic Department is truly appreciative of the contributions from not only from the Omaha Alumni Association, Smith Vending, and Kiewit, but of all of the additional sponsors.” Schneider listed the hole sponsors as Arbor Manor, Bank of Peru, Carsmart, Engles Agency, Bobcat Football Booster Club, NADAA, Peru State Foundation, Rixstine Recognition, Table Creek, US Cellular, Valentino's, Code Blue Volleyball Club, Elster American Meter, Peru State Bobcat Bookstore, DLR, Nemaha County Hospital, Myron Hahn/Shelter Insurance, Pieters Construction, Carson National Bank, Schneider OK Tire, Ted Harshbarger, Lifetime Vision, Miller Family Dentistry, and Peru State Athletic Department.
    Steve Krajicek, a PSC alumna, and the College's Creative Dining Services were the lunch sponsors. Gift in Kind sponsors were Kristi Nies, KNCY, Casey's General Store, Auburn Discount Liquor, Auburn Pizza Hit, Raising Canes, Peru State Bobcat Bookstore, Bank of Peru, Lifetime Vision, Doug Lanik, La Quinta, Blum's Custom Frames, Ultimate Team Sales, Cargill, and The Flower Shoppe.
    It is anticipated that next year's tournament will be May 30, 2014, at Table Creek.
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar