Two candidates applied for the position of District Judge in the Second Judicial District, which includes Otoe County; however, only one was qualified. The state constitution, however, requires two candidates to be submitted to the governor, so a second round of hearings will be held. The vacancy is due to the retirement of Judge Randall Rehmeier.

LINCOLN -- According to Supreme Court Justice Kenneth C. Stephan, the Judicial Nominating Commission for District Judge in the Second Judicial District (consisting of Cass, Sarpy and Otoe counties) held its first public hearing on the qualifications of two candidates who previously submitted their names to fill the vacancy in the office of District Judge due to the retirement of the Honorable Randall L. Rehmeier.  At the conclusion of that public hearing, only one of the two candidates for such vacancy received a sufficient number of votes to advance his name to the Governor.  Article V, § 21(1) of the Nebraska Constitution requires that a nominating commission must present to the Governor “a list of at least two nominees” to fill a judicial vacancy.  This constitutional requirement cannot be met in this case. Therefore, in accordance with Neb. Rev. Stat. § 24-810(3), the Commission shall institute a search for additional candidates to fill the vacancy. 

A second public hearing shall be held in the Cass County Courthouse in Plattsmouth, Nebraska, beginning at 10:00 a.m. on  Thursday, July 11, 2013.  The primary place of office for the judicial vacancy is Plattsmouth, Cass County, Nebraska.   At the hearing, the Commission will receive information on the qualifications of candidates to fill the vacancy in the office of District Judge due to the retirement of the Honorable Randall L. Rehmeier.  

The public is welcome to attend the hearing and present information concerning candidates for the judicial opening. Individuals interested in applying for the position can obtain a Judicial Vacancy Application package from the Nebraska Judicial Branch website at Completed applications may be submitted electronically or by hard copy and must be received no later than 5:00 p.m. Thursday, June 20, 2013.

A listing of the members of the Judicial Nominating Commission can be found on the Nebraska Judicial Branch Web site at