Otoe County commissioners re-appointed two members to the Otoe County Planning Commission after a seven-month delay.

Commissioners said the waited to make the appointments because they want to implement a new system that encourages citizens to fill out forms declaring their interesting in government service. Seven forms were returned.

Otoe County commissioners re-appointed Dan Hodges and Richard Warner to the county's planning commission.

Terms for Hodges and Warner expired in March, but commissioners delayed re-appointment while they implemented an initiative intended to give more people opportunity to serve on local county government.

Rather than selected members of boards and commissions based on county commissioner nominations, the county board began accepting applications from anyone interested in serving. Seven applications were received.

With the re-appointment of Hodges and Warner, there remains one open seat on the six-member planning commission.

Zoning Administrator David Schmitz says he believes the county board would like to find a resident from the fourth commission district, which includes Talmage, Lorton, Syracuse and the North Branch precinct.

Commissioners agreed in July to seat planning commission members from each of the five commissioner districts.

Current members are Loreen Haupt, district 1; Howard Bebout, district 2; Hodges and Warner, district 3; Cheri Wirthele and William Umland, district 5.