Election Commissioner Janene Bennett says ballots available for early voting.

Ballots may be returned in person or by mail. The election commissioner can also arranged to have ballots picked up.

Early voting

begins in

Otoe County

Voting for the Nov. 8 general election began in Otoe County on Oct. 1.

Early ballots are available at the Otoe County Clerk's office and may be returned in person, by mail or an election officer can pick them up.

The ballot includes races for U.S. President, U.S. Congress, county commissioner, mayor of Syracuse, Nebraska City City Commission and county board.

The deadline to register to vote at the clerk's office is 6 p.m. on Oct. 26.

People need to register to vote if they have changed names, addresses or political party.

Where to vote

Nebraska City has six voting districts who cast ballots at three polling places, First Baptist Church, Methodist Church and Bethel Church.

The Baptist Church, 302 S. Seventh St., is for most Nebraska City residents east of Ninth Street.

The Methodist Church, 1023 First Ave., is for most residents east of 19th Street and north of Central Avenue.

The Bethel Church, 2400 Central Ave., is for most residents west of 11th Street and south of Central Avenue, and residents west of 19th Street.

The polling place at the county roads shop on the J. Sterling Morton Beltway has been discontinued. Voters in the Four Mile Township will vote at Bethel, voters at Wyoming will vote at the Methodist Church and voters in the Wyoming township will vote in Otoe.